Kinky Boots -Life Is in the Heels

image (1)

Some quite personal thoughts after watching Kinky Boots. Not really a play review! 😛

Kinky Boots on a Canada-ly cold Thursday night has been a cheerful reboot of my knowledge. Like how I started reading Lolita, I tend to just stumble into things being woefully ignorant. I walked into Royal Alexandra pumped for the gummy bears, popcorn and theatre, but was totally strutting around stepping on two ignorances (if “ignorance” can be plural).

The first is one that I am aware of, – I have never worn heels. No stilettos, no platforms, no whatsoever. Never have I walked around with my soles 1cm away from the ground. And I was there to watch a whole show about heels.

But that is just an anodyne ignorance. The second one? I sat down, started reading the programme, and I had to ask my friend what a drag artist is. Being freshly from China, I had no idea that such a profession existed. I guess if I didn’t just ask bluntly, I would have watched a whole musical miserably confused.

I have learned to ask a lot more about the things not from my culture, bluntly. “What are fruit loops?” “What is a leprechaun?”… “What is a drag queen?” I try to just spit out the questions. I guess that is part of learning to accept who I am, how little I know, and how different I am. WHICH ties into the message of Kinky Boots. (Yes, guess what, I did not write all this gibberish for nothing! Surprise surprise! )

The show was cheerful, the staging amazing and sparkly, the story inspirational and… predictable, but the characters! were wonderful. I loved Lola, the drag artist in the story whose presence (and whose taste in clothes) just makes the whole thing rock, and whose profession I didn’t even know of 15 minutes before the show.

As I said, the story was pretty predictable,- a shoe factory on the edge of extinction teams up with a drag artist to produce high-heeled boots for the drag queen niche market. Everything was going well, the drag artist designed eye-grabbing shoes and won more and more respect… Then the hot-headed young Charlie who just took over the factory panics about their Milan premiere,  pisses everyone off and things seemed bootless (no pun intended!). And then miracles happened and everyone’s sole (soul) was saved.

The people in the show, however, really made me think. I tip my hat to all the actors who are able to dance around in their two-and-a-half-feet heels, especially the boy who played little Lola. Chewing the addictive gummy bears and watching the show, I tried thinking about what wearing heels means. “Sex is in the heels” “Two and a half feet of irresistible, tubular sex” . For Lola, heels is sexiness, and heels just made for her is sexiness uniquely hers. Walking on a Milan runway with red high-heeled boots designed to support her weight, somewhat means her being accepted by everyone, and by herself.

It’s not that heels mean confidence or self esteem, but rocking a pair of heels when you’re a man is. In fact, rocking anything is confidence and self esteem, even dancing around in those Canadian snowshoes.

Never have I worn heels, for I am tall and walking on heels just makes me even taller than people. I went to the boarding boat cruise in flats, to Father-daughter dance with flats, I went to everything without heels, because I don’t want to be taller than others and get all the affectionate complaints: “What the heck Mia, why are you so tall? Makes me so jelly”, because I don’t think I’m ready for that “sophistication”, because I’m sure I would sprain my ankle or something. Plus, I already sometimes feel discontented about how tall I am, eg, when my part in the school play is an 8-year-old. But would I want to stop caring so much about what others think and just strut about in heels sometimes? I probably should. Physically get myself above the ground, dance around, be tall.

Do not be misguided by the title of this post,- it is but an awkward attempt to be creative with the Kinky Boots quotes. 😛 What I do mean is that life is in the heels, in dancing around being tall, nimble and proud, and comfortable with who you are amongst the crowd… It’s still pretty figurative, eh? I tried.

Okay, let’s reword this. Life is in living proud and happy with who you are, wearing heels, flats, sandals, flip-flops or barefoot.

 

Leave a Reply

