My Autumn Reads

autumn-reads-collage
The falling leaves drift by my window… the falling leaves of read and gold ❤

As the temperature drops, things that I look forward to  during the day the most are: showering and sleeping, and also the autumn-sy food at our school cafeteria. The 2-dollar cups of apple cider, the pumpkin pie with melted marshmallow, the Ontario vegetables.

But there is also a deeper craving, which can be perfectly summed up in this Indigo ad- some outrageously comfy socks, a mug of tea, and book after book after book. 

make-it-an-indigo-weekend

Sadly, this ad also perfectly captures why such fantasy is unrealistic for me- it all looks os staged. The way the girl holds her book, the way the brand new books are piled up. I don’t have time for that.

However, just like how there’s always time for a good pie if you set your mind to it, there’s always some way you can find time to read. I’ve been making space in my life for these books lately:

I JUST FINISHED…

1. Farhenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

quote

One of the best dystopian novels I have ever read. A futuristic setting where books are outlawed and firemen burn books. It is a story about despair, but it is so full of hope. It deals with destruction, but it is so full of passion.

It’s got just the right amount of intensity woven into beautiful prose, and you’ll be reluctant to put it down, even just to reach for your tea.

2. Lord of the Flies by William Golding

lord-of-the-flies

Had to read it for English class. It is almost too dark a book to read in a Snuggie, but the delicious and urgent story is a good way to make one feel lucky to be safe under a blanket.

The scorching heat of the deserted island in the story makes you relish the autumn chill.

I am currently reading…

1. Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow

alx-biography

In case you don’t already know, I am a die-hard Hamilton fan. This biography, which inspired the hit musical, is one of the best biographies I’ve ever come across. It is so easy to follow and so riveting that the 800 pages isn’t a problem at all.

And what’s more reenergizing than reading about Broadway’s favourite founding father working non-stop just like we are? (okay, I can’t tell if I’m being sarcastic anymore)

2. The Unraveling of Mercy Louis by Keija Parssinen

unraveling

It’s a stunning book inspired by the Salem witch trials, but in a modern high school setting.

The small town setting created by Parssinen is totally believable, and while most of the time I’m not a mystery person (because i’m too good at spooking myself out), I am in love with the writing and the ingenuity of the idea.

I want to read…

norwegian-wood

I’ve long wanted to read a Mirakumi novel.

In my opinion, nothing is more autumnist than a nostalgic story about loss, friendship and sexuality, plus the calming language of Japanese literature.

Take time to read! Books are good, autumn is good, life is good. 🙂

8 Comments Add yours

  1. As a recent convert to Murakami I also cannot wait for Norwegian Wood. I find his writing so atmospheric!

    Like

    1. I love Japanese writers- they always somehow manage to have both atmosphere and plot!!! Any recommendations for other Murakami books? ❤

      Like

      1. I finished Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World a couple of months ago and loved it. It was insane and off the wall but stunning

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Michaela says:

    I always thought Farhenheit 451 to be too sad to me… maybe I should give it a try. Might be good for long autumn Sundays 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Do give it a try! It’s a sad premise but the story is mindblowing

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I would recommend reading Murakami’s short story collections, The Elephant Vanishes and ‘after the quake’ (he insists the title is lower case). They are perfect snapshots of Murakami’s ability for absurd reality and ‘after the quake’ is a fascinating reflection after the Kobe earthquake in ’99. I find his novels too winding and meandering, but that’s a characteristic of Japanese storytelling (circular versus straight). I do like the Japanese mindset though so I am a big fan of Kazuo Ishiguro. Japanese raised in Britain, he likes to deal with questions of identity and reliability of the narrator. Of course most recognize Remains of the Day but I think Nocturnes, his short story collection, and Never Let Me Go should be more read. I’m still going through his newest, The Buried Giant, to give an opinion yet.

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing!!! As well I love Ryūnosuke Akutagawa- his short stories are amazing, and Yasunari Kawabata.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Two brand new names for me so that’s exciting! Thanks.

        Like

Leave a Reply

