Ed Sheeran is Back & the World is Better for It

WHAT BETTER WAY TO START A DAY THAN WAKE UP AND FIND OUT THAT ED SHEERAN JUST DROPPED TWO NEW SONGS????!!!!

So yes, after a year out of the spotlight, Ed Sheeran comes back with two tracks, “Shape of You” and “Castle on the Hill”, which are going to be part of his new album, “÷”.

One thing I love is how his albums are named math symbols… We have “+” from 2011, “X” from 2014, and now “÷” in 2017.

And that to me also somewhat represents Ed Sheeran’s appeal- he is unabashedly geeky, and his songs are thoughtful and celebrates everyday things. Sometimes, the redhead constantly wearing plaid shirts may seem like the unlikeliest of our pop stars today, but he represents talent and songs that you can listen to any time of day.

Now, onto the new singles.

Shape of You

“Shape of You” is definitely a catchy, radio-friendly song. The tempo and theme remind me of his “Sing”.  When I listened to the two new tracks while brushing my teeth, this one was instantly catchy. It’s bouncy, gripping and happy. It’s sexy, talking about meeting a girl at a bar and falling in love with her body and her, but at the same time it’s sweet. Rather than the “I can’t feel my face when I’m with you, but I love it” or “I love cheap thrills” type of thing, Ed Sheeran conveys the image of a lover who has it bad, who is still overjoyed by every little detail

“We talk for hours and hours about the sweet and the sour/ And how your family is doing okay…”

“Last night you were in my room/ and now my bedsheets smell like you”

And can we just talk about how beautiful the lyrics video is???!!! Make sure to check it out on Youtube!

Castle on the Hill

This one took me a while to like it, but now it’s really growing on me. Once I’ve listened to it a couple of times, and was able to pay attention to the lyrics, “Castle on the Hill” stood out as an honest, quirky and genuine anthem.

In this one, Ed draws from his experience of growing up in English countryside. He sings,

“Had my first kiss on a Friday night, I don’t reckon that I did it right/ But I was younger then, take me back to when”

“Me and my friends have not thrown up in so long, oh how we’ve grown/ But I can’t wait to go home”

castle on the hill.gif

It’s about coming of age- a bittersweet reminiscence. However, while it has a similar theme to songs like “7 Years” by Lukas Graham, it has a more upbeat tempo.  Somehow the constant strumming of guitar in the backdrop makes the song feel a whole lot more summery and wistful. It’s full of longing, and I admire the honesty and roughness of this song.

I’m so glad Ed came back. His new songs float and flow and roll and tumble. His voice just lights up everybody’s freaking universe.

ed.gif

What do you think of Ed Sheeran’s new songs? Are they over-hyped? Did Ed Sheeran save your 2017?

15 thoughts on “Ed Sheeran is Back & the World is Better for It

  1. I woke up at 6:45 am (45 minutes before my alarm) just to listen. It also took me a moment to get into Castle on the Hill, but loved Shape of You immediately. (And when I say a moment, by the hook I was in love.)

    I can’t wait until divide is available!

    Like

    1. hahaha, kudos to you for the 6:45 am commitment (i remember setting a 12am alarm for the Hamilton mixtape)! and same i can’t wait till the album comes out. ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

