May TBR/ Books I’ve Been Reading for Forever

may is a shared month. july and august, everyone is in different parts of the world; december and january, people pack their moments into a bag big enough only for loved ones.

but may is a shared month. for almost everyone, it means flowers, birthdays, and the realization that you’re almost halfway through the year, which is arguably more annoying than spring allergies.

here are books that i am going to read in may. some of them i’ve picked up around last year, but some of them are brand new. hopefully i can get to most of them after i finish my AP exams.

The Night Circus

the night circus

i have about 50 pages of it left, and it is such an exquisitely-crafted book. at first i was slightly taken aback by the multiple plotlines and the complicated timeline, but the writing kept me going. now as i watch Marco and Celia fall deeper and deeper into love, it’s really hard to put the book down and it’s a world that i wish actually existed.

stars.gif

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

perks of being a wallflower

duh. everyone wants to feel infinite once in a while. 😉

Night Sky with Exit Wounds

night sky with exit wounds

Night Sky with Exit Wounds by Ocean Vuong is a collection of poems that talk about a lot of themes. Ocean Vuong came to the US as a child refugee from Saigon, Vietnam, and his (their?) writing is kind of like salt water: it hurts when a wound comes in contact, but it is also calm and leaves you thinking “mmmm” in the untraceable warmth of the moon.

*wow this imagery is really getting out of hand

No Matter the Wreckage

no matter the wreckage.jpg

i think all the (unnecessary) stress in my life threw me into a very un-YA mood. i plan on reading more poetry this month. Sarah Kay is one of my favourite spoken word poets, and i look forward to finishing the second half of her book No Matter the Wreckage.

(potentially?) a Neruda book

pablo-neruda

So, while the hand
holds the cut of the lemon,
half a world
on a trencher,
the gold of the universe
wells
to your touch

as you can see, may has me feeling a bit more lovey-dovey… even though it’s only 4 degrees in Toronto today…

comment to let me know what you are reading this month!

2 thoughts on “May TBR/ Books I’ve Been Reading for Forever

  1. I like your characterization of May! Mother’s Day, graduations, end of school, and my birthday month… so many opportunities to get together with people. Also, in my part of the world, it’s not too hot yet!

    I’m reading No One Is Coming To Save Us by Stephanie Powell Watt, and it’s really powerful. This month I plan to read Borne by Jeff Vandermeer, Stephen King’s The Gunslinger, and who knows what else I’ll get into? I’m trying to read some of my own purchased books too. I keep meaning to read The Night Circus. I will eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

